Nat Tiffen, Founder of The Tiffen Company, To Be Inducted Into CT Hall Of Fame

“Our company and our family are deeply humbled
and honored by this recognition of my father.
We would like to thank the judges
and the executive board of the CTA.”

– Steven Tiffen, President & CEO

Arlington, VA – 04/28/2016 – The Consumer Technology Association (CTA)®revealed today the latest class of honorees that will be inducted into its 2016 Consumer Technology (CT) Hall of Fame. The CT Hall of Fame, created in 2000, pays tribute to the leaders who have advanced innovation and developed a foundation for the consumer technologies we enjoy today and others still to come.

“The CT Hall of Fame celebrates our rich history of innovation,” said CTA President and CEO Gary Shapiro. “This year’s class represents leaders who laid the cornerstones for many of today’s hottest products and trends – from immersive television delivered where and when we want, to the developer of the wireless Bluetooth standard that we rely on daily to exchange data over short distances. From a satellite-based navigation system to the early days of the smart home and video games, these leaders followed their visions creating, selling, distributing and promoting products that improve consumers’ lives.”

The 2016 class includes inventors with an idea, business executives, a distributor with distinctive strategies to bring accessories to store shelves, a retailer who marketed these products and a journalist that explained how technology works. The class also includes two teams who combined their individual efforts to make a lasting contribution to the industry:


Visionary Retailer: Sidney Cooper – Silo

Father of Bluetooth: Dr. Jaap Haartsen – Ericsson

Prominent Distribution Pioneer: David B. Lorsch – DBL Distributing

Transformational Technologist: Chuck Pagano – ESPN

Legendary Journalist: Steve Smith – TWICE Magazine

Home Automation Developer: Joel Spira – Lutron

Pioneering Accessories Executive: Nat Tiffen – The Tiffen Company

Video Game Futurist: Hiroshi Yamauchi – Nintendo

Renowned GPS Developers: Norm Hunt, Ed Tuck, Don Rea – Magellan

Distinguished Digital HDTV Grand Alliance Leaders

Dr. Peter Bingham, Phillips Labs President;

Jim Carnes, Sarnoff Labs CEO;

Dr. Curt Crawford, AT&T Microelectronics President;

Dr. Jae Lim, MIT Professor;

Jerry Pearlman, Zenith Electronics CEO; and

Donald Rumsfeld, General Instrument CEO.

The inductees were selected by a group of media and industry professionals, who judged the nominations submitted by manufacturers, retailers and industry journalists. The 2016 honorees will be inducted into the CT Hall of Fame in New York at an awards dinner to be held on Wednesday, November 9, at the Rainbow Room.

To read the CT Hall of Fame section from last year’s dinner that appeared in CTA’s It Is Innovation (i3) magazine, visit: CTA.tech/HallofFame. Complete inductee bios will appear in the November issue of i3 as well as online.

About the Consumer Technology Association

Consumer Technology Association (CTA)TM is the trade association representing the $287 billion U.S. consumer technology industry. More than 2,200 companies – 80 percent are small businesses and startups; others are among the world’s best known brands – enjoy the benefits of CTA membership including policy advocacy, market research, technical education, industry promotion, standards development and the fostering of business and strategic relationships. The Consumer Technology Association also owns and produces CES® – the world’s gathering place for all who thrive on the business of consumer technologies. Profits from CES are reinvested into CTA’s industry services.